The patient’s clinical condition is usually described using the Expanded Disability Status Scale (Kurtzke scale) The EDDS is based on the presence of certain symptoms in a typical neurological examination. These observations are evaluated on the scale from 1 to 9 in each functional system (FS) respectively*. The higher the EDSS score, the more profound the patient's disability level. If the patient’s condition is rated as 5, they are able to walk about 200 metres without assistance or rest. However, a patient who scores 8 on the EDSS scale, is essentially restricted to a wheelchair.

Table 1. EDSS Scale
Step Patient’s condition
0 Normal neurological examination
1 No disability, minimal signs in one FS
2 Minimal disability in one FS
3 Moderate disability in one FS, or mild disability in three or four FS. Fully ambulatory
4 Fully ambulatory without aid, self-sufficient, up and about some 12 hours a day despite relatively severe disability; which usually involves one FS grade 4; able to walk without aid or rest some 500 meters.
5 Ambulatory without aid or rest for about 200 meters; disability severe enough to fully impair daily activities
6 Intermittent or unilateral constant assistance (cane, crutch, brace) required to walk about 100 meters with or without resting
7 Unable to walk beyond approximately five meters even with aid: essentially restricted to wheelchair; in wheelchair over 12 hours a day
8 Essentially restricted to a chair or perambulated in a wheelchair, but may be out of the chair itself much of the day; retains many self-care functions; generally has effective use of arms
9 Confined to bed; can still communicate and eat
10 Death due to MS

*FS – „functional systems” - pyramidal, cerebellar, brainstem, sensory, bowel and bladder, cerebral, visual.

source: www.ptsr.org.pl